Key changes to the NQF

  • A revised National Quality Standard will be introduced February 1st 2018 removing duplication and streamlining the system & expectations. In summary:
  • There will still be 7 Quality Areas
  • Reducing of the number of standards to 15 (from 18)
  • Reducing the number of elements to 40 (from 58)

NEW additions include

  • Concepts for each standard and element that allow services to focus on and unpack what the key ideas means in relation to outcomes for children
  • Services can use the concepts as a starting point or prompt for exploring ‘What do outcomes for children look like when this concept is met?’

More information is available from:





Phone:1300 4 ACECQA

Early Childhood Education Directorate

Department of Education



Phone: 1300 679 332